About Me

 

IMG_2641
Exploring Montmartre, Paris
Thanks for stopping by!

About Me: I’m a 25 (soon to be 26) year-old native New Yorker with a Brazilian mother and a Greek father. I received my bachelor’s degree in Art History from the George Washington University. In my day-to-day, non-traveling life I co-organize ArtsTech , a meetup group of 4,300+ members that explores the intersection of art and technology and I am the Lead Editor and content strategist for Women’s iLab, a website dedicated to empowering the next generation of female leaders. I’m also a producer for Babel, a creative community that gathers around music and art through experience-driven events. I practice mediation, yoga, and Qi-Gong.

What’s Next: None of my positions with ArtsTech, Women’s iLab, or Babel are full time. After leaving my position as the Director of Operations for the mobile tech startup Kite, I decided I needed to reset and go back to what drives me forward – traveling. Although I am still very much searching for the right position and company to join next, I am taking these next few months to reflect on the last year of my life and all the changes that I’ve experienced. I am also taking this time to search for what truly makes me happy, which I feel will drive my next job opportunity.

IMG_4092
Getting close and personal with the llamas in Machu Picchu, Peru

Brazil Soccer WCup Costa Rica Greece
At the 2014 World Cup in Brasil for the Greece x Costa Rica Round of 16. Photo by Associated Press.
Where did all this traveling come from? I started traveling at an early age. My first plane ride was at nine months old, with my mother to visit our family in Brasil. Every year since, sometimes multiple times a year, we’d go to Recife, while also making the effort to another city in Brasil so that I could get to experience such an incredibly diverse country to its fullest.

My travel bug was triggered by going on trips to exotic locations during my winter break from high school: my mother and I were the best travel partners, and we went to India, United Arab Emirates, Egypt, and Israel over the course of three years.

The beginnings of solo-backpacking: I studied abroad my junior year of college in Paris. This is where I truly fell in love with the art of travel. I spent two out of four weekends each month visiting different parts of France and nearby European cities, relishing in the ease and accessibility of taking mini “study breaks.” The first time I truly traveled alone was after study abroad ended in the summer of that year, where I stayed on to explore Spain and Italy. I backpacked throughout Italy and Switzerland on my own, and I learned how much I loved having my own schedule and how easy it was to meet people along the way. A friend met me in Spain, and although we had an amazing time traveling together, I realized that I would commit largely to solo traveling. My time studying abroad was only the beginning.

Where I’ve been: So far, 30 countries on 5 continents. My current journey will add another 5 places to my list.

Here’s a little map of the countries I’ve visited so far:
Make yours @ BigHugeLabs.com

Most of my traveling has happened in the last 4 (almost 5) years, between ages 21 and 25. I feel that my solo backpacking has progressed in levels of difficulty: I went from staying in hotels to hostels to couch surfing, from the countries in Europe to Southeast Asia to now South America, from traveling with a parent then with friends and finally completely alone.

Languages I speak: Native English and Portuguese, fluent French, moderate proficiency in Spanish, and student of Greek and Japanese.

Contact Me: Want to just say hi? You can find me on Instagram and Twitter. Or, drop me a line via email at accounts [at] amaiou [dot] com.